About Us
Through The Years
Erosion & Sediment Control
Dirt & Gravel Road Program
Stream & Wetland Permitting
Ag Environmental Compliance
Nurtient Management Program
Farmland Preservation
Chesapeake Bay Program
Environmental Education
Cooperating Agencies & Links

Natural Stream RestorationMission Statement:
The mission of the Mifflin County Conservation District is to conserve the county’s natural resources through coordinated and professional guidance, technical assistance, and education to the landowners, public agencies, and residents of Mifflin County.

The Mifflin County Conservation District was organized in 1956 as a legal subdivision of state and local government, under the authority of Act 217, to assist Mifflin County’s landowners with natural resource related concerns, and provide the technical and financial assistance to implement conservation practices on their land.  There are 66 conservation districts in Pennsylvania, representing every county except Philadelphia, and nearly 3000 nationwide, dedicated to conserving our soil and water resources.

From its origin as primarily an agricultural organization, the Mifflin County Conservation District has grown and diversified to become the primary contact for local natural resource concerns. The District provides assistance to citizens, landowners, organizations, agencies and local governments in critical land use decisions, water quality issues, nonpoint source pollution abatement, and other resource related areas. The Conservation District is managed by a Board of Directors who know the county, its people, and the local conservation issues.

Through its various programs the Conservation District provides resource protection for the benefit of all of Mifflin County. These programs restore natural resources, reach out to citizens, provide technical assistance, and facilitate natural resource education.

Mifflin County Conservation District Through The Years

Back Row Left to Right: Erica Smith, Andy McDonald, Mike Stuck, Floyd Ciccolini
Front Row Left to Right: June Morningstar, Cathy Yohn, Dan Dunmire

District Manager
Dan Dunmire

Administrative Assistant
June Morningstar

Agricultural Conservation Technician
Erica Smith

Resource Conservation Specialist
Mike Stuck

Resource Conservationist
Floyd Ciccolini

Watershed Specialist
Justin Kozak                                                                                                         jkozak@mifflinccd.com 
Part-Time Secretary
Cathy Yohn

Cathy Haughwout, Chair
Donald Baker
Glenn Casner
Roy Stine
David Glick
James Hostetter

Associate Directors:
Murry Laite
Jean Savitts
Raymond Snyder

Commissioner Director:
Otis Riden